The voice of agriculture . Die stem van landbou . Izwe lezokulima

Agri SA announces Board at the 2019 Congress

Agri SA congratulates its Board who have been elected at the 2019 Congress today. The Board is representative of the entire agricultural value chain, including Agri SA’s provincial affiliates, commodity organisations and corporate members.

“It has been a tough year, but the agricultural sector is resilient,” said Dan Kriek, re-elected Agri SA President. “The Board is familiar with the issues at hand and we are confident and committed to tackle these issues head-on.”

Dan is a stud farmer in the Free State and has been active in Agri SA structures for several years, having served as Free State Agriculture President and Agri SA Deputy President. This is his third term as Agri SA President.

 The Agri SA Board for 2019/20 is:

Dan Kriek                                – President

Pierre Vercueil                        – Deputy president

Phenias Gumede                    – Deputy president

Cornie Swart                           – General Affairs Chamber representative

Doug Stern                             – General Affairs Chamber representative

Francois Wilken                      – General Affairs Chamber representative

Jaco Minnaar                          – Commodity Chamber representative

Niël Joubert                            – Commodity Chamber representative

SK Makinana                          – Commodity Chamber representative

Gerhard Diedericks                – Corporate Chamber Representative

Rossouw Cillié                        – Corporate Chamber representative

Nic Bronkhorst                        – Corporate Chamber Representative

Dr Charlotte Nkuna                 – Independent Director

Dr Kathy Hurley                      – Independent Director

The theme of the 2019 Congress was Shaping the South African agricultural landscape in the age of the 4th industrial revolution,” says Omri van Zyl, Agri SA Executive Director. “We had various thought-provoking speakers from Corteva AgriScience, John Deere and Stellenbosch University discussing future technologies.”

 Agri SA were honoured to have the Minister of Agriculture, Land Affairs and Rural Development, Thoko Didiza and the Minister of Water and Sanitation, Lindiwe Sisulu at our congress.

 “The Ministers used the time to listen to various issues from the sector and promised to address them. We hope to have a fruitful engagement with the Ministers and their teams in the future.”


Omri van Zyl

Agri SA Executive Director

C: 082 417 5724